1.—Provinces and Territories of Canada, Dates of Admission to Confederation, Legislative Processes by which Admission was Effected, Present Area and Seat of Government

Province, Territory or District	Date of Admission or Creation			Legislative Process	Present Area (sq. miles)	Seat of Provincial or Territorial Government
Ontario ¹	July July July July	1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1	867 867	Act of Imperial Parliament—The British North America Act, 1867 (Br. Stat., 1867, c. 3) and Imperial Order in Council. May 22, 1867.	412,582 594,860 21,425 28,354	Toronto Quebec Halifax Fredericton
Manitoba³	July	(0)	000 (See	Manitoba Act, 1870 (SC 1870, c. 3) and Imperial Order in Council, June 23, 1870.	251,000	Winnipeg
British Columbia	July	20, 1	871	Imperial Order in Council, May 16, 1871	366,255	Victoria
Prince Edward Island	July	1, 1	873	Imperial Order in Council, June 26, 1873	2,184	Charlotte-
Saskatchewan4	Sept.	1, 1	905	Saskatchewan Act, 1905 (SC 1905, c. 42)	251,700	Regina
Alberta4	Sept.	1, 1	905	Alberta Act, 1905 (SC 1905, c. 3)	255,285	Edmonton
Newfoundland	Mar.	31, 1	949	The British North America Act, 1949 (Br. Stat. 1949, c. 22)	156,185	St. John's
Northwest Territories ⁵	July	15, 1	870	Act of Imperial Parliament—Rupert's Land Act, 1868 (Br. Stat. 1868, c. 105) and Imperial Order in Council, June 23, 1870.	1,304,903	1
Mackenzie ⁶ Keewatin ⁶ Franklin ⁶		1, 1 1, 1 1, 1	1920	Order in Council, Mar. 16, 1918	527,490 228,160 549,253	Yellowknife
Yukon Territory ⁷	June	13, 1	1898	Yukon Territory Act, 1898 (SC 1898, c. 6)	207,076	Whitehorse
				Canada	3,851,809	

¹ The area of Ontario was extended by the Ontario Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (SC 1912, c. 40).

² Extended by Quebec Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (SC 1912, c. 45) and diminished Mar. 1, 1927 in consequence of the Award of the Judicial Committee of the British Privy Council whereby approximately 112,000 sq. miles of territory (formerly considered as part of Quebec) was assigned to Newfoundland.

^{*} Extended by the Extension of Boundaries Act of Manitoba, 1881 and the Manitoba Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (SC 1912, c. 32).

⁴ Saskatchewan and Alberta created as provinces in 1905 from the area formerly comprised in the provisional districts of Assiniboia, Athabaska, Alberta and Saskatchewan established May 17, 1882 by minute of Canadian Privy Council concurred in by Dominion Parliament and Order in Council, Oct. 2, 1895.

By an Imperial Order in Council passed on June 23, 1870 pursuant to the Rupert's Land Act, 1868 (Br. Stat. 1868, c. 105), the former territories of the Hudson's Bay Company known as Rupert's Land and the North-Western Territories by the Act of SC 1869, c. 3 and as the North-west Territories were designated as the North-West Territories by the Act of SC 1869, c. 3 and as the North-west Territories by RSC 1906, c. 62. By Imperial Order in Council of July 31, 1880 (effective Sept. 1, 1880), all British territories and possessions in North America not already included within Canada and all islands adjacent thereto (with the exception of the Colony of Newfoundland and its dependencies) were annexed to Canada and these additional territories were formally included in the North-West Territories by SC 1905, c. 27. The Province of Manitoba was formed out of a portion of the territories by the Manitoba Act, 1870 (SC 1870, c. 3) and a further portion was added to Manitoba in 1881 by SC 1831, c. 14. The Provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan were formed out of portions of the territories in 1905 and in 1912 other portions were added to Manitoba, Ontario and Quebec.

[•] By SC 1876, c. 21, a separate district to be known as the District of Keewatin was established and provision was made for the local government thereof. The Act was expressed to come into force by proclamation. It provided that portions of the District might be re-annexed to the North-West Territories by proclamation; in 1886 a portion of the District of Keewatin was re-annexed and in 1905 the entire Keewatin District was re-annexed. The Act of 1876 was never proclaimed. By Order in Council of May 8, 1882 the provisional districts of Assiniboia, Saskatchewan, Alberta and Athabaska were created for the convenience of settlers and for postal purposes. By Order in Council of Oct. 2, 1895 the further provisional districts of Ungave, Franklin, Mackenzie and Yukon were created. The boundaries of these provisional districts were re-defined by Order in Council of Dec. 18, 1897. Subsequently the Yukon Territory was formed, the Provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan were created and other portions of the territories were annexed to Quebec, Ontario and Manitoba. By Order in Council dated Mar. 16, 1918 (effective Jan. 1, 1920) the remaining portions of the Northwest Territories were divided into three provisional districts known as Mackenzie, Keewatin and Franklin.

⁷ The provisional district of Yukon established in 1895 was created a judicial district of the North-West Territories by proclamation issued pursuant to Sect. 51 of the North-West Territories Act (RSC 1886, c. 50) on Aug. 16, 1897 and, by the Yukon Territory Act (SC 1898, c. 6), was declared to be a separate Territory.